XBOX 360 Elite - Can it be used as a media streamer?

Discussion in 'Video Games' started by Childress79, Nov 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Childress79

    Childress79 Loungefly ® Tip Jar Donor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    8,094
    I'm considering buying a 360 Elite.

    Does anyone have one? I'd really like to know how usable it is as a media streamer. Will I be able to play xvid & avi files from my PC to a tv using the 360 accross a wireless network?

    I'm not interested in flashing it or modding it in any way.I'd just like to know if it can be used as a media streamer straight out of the box.
    #1
  2. Puck

    Puck Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,051
    iirc, you need to have Windows Media Center on your PC
    #2
  3. Puck

    Puck Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,051
    btw ... do NOT get the Elite
    as I understand it (as I have not seen / read otherwise) the Elite's do not have the new 'sister' heatsinks
    there have been just as many RROD issues with Elite's as Prem's
    #3
  4. Childress79

    Childress79 Loungefly ® Tip Jar Donor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    8,094
    Cheers Puck.

    I've read up on it & your right the current batch of Elite's on sale have the old mobo & cpu. Glad I asked.

    An additional 65nm graphics chip upgrade is due 3rd qtr 08 & a full 3rd gen upgrade to 45mn is allegedly coming in 09.

    I think I'll wait until it's all sorted out.
    #4
  5. Puck

    Puck Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,051
    there's really no need in grabbing an elite anyway
    the only difference iirc, is the 120gb HDD
    but if you plan on streaming, you probably will be using an external HDD anyway - right
    the best options right now are the new Premiums with the 2nd heatsink and HDMI outputs
    #5
  6. Childress79

    Childress79 Loungefly ® Tip Jar Donor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    8,094
    You know this is a bit pathetic really but aesthetically I only want the elite because it's black. The HDD isn't really an issue.:eek:
    #6
  7. Childress79

    Childress79 Loungefly ® Tip Jar Donor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    8,094
    I've bit the bullet & ordered a 360 Elite. Should be delivered tomorrow.

    Done some reading up & most machines made from mid October/Batch #738 & above have the new 65nm chips & even an earlier than predicted cooler GPU as well.

    That was all I needed to know.
    #7
  8. HALL97ROX

    HALL97ROX Camp Fodder

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    213
    Damn it childress I didn't see this soon enough I was going to tell you the Halo edition of the 360 has the Falcon chip set in it, use that info as you will
    #8
  9. Childress79

    Childress79 Loungefly ® Tip Jar Donor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    8,094
    No worries,thanks anyway man.

    It's here & I can confirm I've got an elite with the Falcon chip.Batch #742
    #9
  10. HALL97ROX

    HALL97ROX Camp Fodder

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    213
    Good deal, enjoy
    #10
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.