McNair Not Ready to Step Aside

Discussion in 'Tennessee Titans and NFL Talk' started by goTitans.com, Mar 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. goTitans.com

goTitans.com A living legend. Staff

SUMMARY: A day after his agent said he would not be willing to mentor a young QB, Steve McNair explained how he is not yet ready to give up his starting job with the Titans. "I have been helping that team for eight, nine years. Anybody who knows me knows that it's not about me not wanting to help a guy. I just want to play, and I want to continue to play with the Titans and I want to be a starter," McNair said. "I know, everybody in Nashville knows, and everybody in the NFL knows they are going to pick a quarterback in the draft. That is the least of my worries. But the thing is, I think I still have two, three more years to play and I'm willing to do whatever it takes to continue in that role. I am not at the end of my career. I am not ready to step aside." He also comments on the recent free agency additions the Titans have made. "I think the direction things are going in is great," McNair said. "I think they made a great decision to get Givens and we've gotten better on the defensive side of the ball with the new guys coming in. They did everything they could to make this team better and I think they have made it better. Hopefully I can be a part of it. I'm ready to get on the field and play."

What do you think about this article? Post your comments below.

#34 Behind Enemy Lines

i don't like that.

3. fitantitans

fitantitans This space For Rent