Computer Internet help please

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by TitanKid4Life, Apr 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Starkiller

    Starkiller 9

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    14,957
    Does Google just not load at all, or does some other page load in its place?
    #31
  2. Starkiller

    Starkiller 9

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    14,957
    Try ad-aware and spybot. Soundslike some kind of adware creating those popups.

    AVG
    #32
  3. ya it doesnt load at all, but my dad told me today that his isnt working either, and i have wireless connection, so i think its something with his, and im using the tabs and i love them, but aim.com wont come up either, and everytime i try to sign in through aol.com it takes me to a problem loading page this is really annoying, and thank u for ur help so far
    #33
  4. alright guys well my dad fixed it, he had to take something out for 30seconds - 1 min and it fixed the google and aim ordeal thanks for the help guys, and spybot really works, and i remember using firefox before, and i like it a lot better than ie
    #34
  5. Puck

    Puck Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,051
    I wouldn't be able to surf without TAB BROWSING

    basically one singular open Browser window can incorporate multiple pages or tabs, whick splay and hide along the toolbar

    it's so much better than having 15 open IE Windows

    Safari has always used it
    FireFox stole the idea but it works well

    for anyone using Firefox, it is a stripped down version of Safari
    #35
  6. Starkiller

    Starkiller 9

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    14,957
    Could have been a malfunctioning router that he unplugged for a bit?

    I had a cousin who couldn't get onto AOL and I spent 2 hours trying to get it to no avail. All they had to do was unplug the router for a few seconds...
    #36
  7. Starkiller

    Starkiller 9

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    14,957
    Mozilla/Firefox has been around much longer than Safari...
    #37
  8. Broken Record

    Broken Record Biscuit Eater Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,290
    Linksys routers are notorious for that. I have to unplug our Linksys wireless router about once/week.
    #38
  9. avvie

    avvie Ke ali'i o na okole Tip Jar Donor

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    8,479
    Get a CS degree and prosecute hackers.
    #39
  10. Starkiller

    Starkiller 9

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    14,957
    I have a netgear that would sometimes lose the entire DSL connection and othertimes only drop the wireless signal. I'd be unplugging it multiple times some days.

    Now I have it running as a subordinate to an older linksys router (because it has no wireless) and now the netgear hasn't dropped in months (though 1 ethernet port burned out). I just can't explain it...
    #40
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.