If I was Floyd Reese...

Discussion in 'Tennessee Titans and NFL Talk' started by Titans2008, Mar 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Titans2008

Titans2008 Camp Fodder

this would be my gameplan.

FA signings:

Keion Carpenter (SS) 3-4 year deal
    Carpenter is a proven vet at SS that would provide a little leadership in the secondary. He could step right into the spot left by Tank leaving or compete with LT for the position, should they choose to experiement with him at SS.

Toniu Funoti (OG) 4 year deal
    An offensive guard who was one of the premier young linemen in the league a few years ago. He is the type we need (350 lbs). He can move people to help get our running game going. He would compete for either guard spot and provide solid depth.

Note: Cowart removed after the Thornton signing. I'm not sure how the cap will shake out with McNair. It's conceivable that we might still be able to sign him, but I'm no cap expert.

Overall: all of these players should come relatively cheap. I think we have way too many young players on our two deep right now and it's one of the main reasons we have a lack of discipline and accountability. I'm all for bringing in vets to lead the way as long as they're still solid players.

Draft:
    1. D'Brickashaw Ferguson
    A franchise LT who's still growing. He has all the intangibles, being a model citizen off the field. As close to a lock as you can get through the draft, he also fills a need at tackle (assuming the rookies aren't ready to step in yet).
    2. Jason Allen
    There is a chance he won't make it this far. With either Carpenter or LT filling up the SS slot, Jason Allen will compete with Vincent Fuller for the FS spot (along with LT if he isn't moved to SS). Allen can also play some CB (probably 3rd or 4th slots) and special teams if he's beat out for FS. An injury risk, but otherwise superb talent.
    4. Reggie McNeal