Resolution question

Discussion in 'Gear' started by Gunny, Jul 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gunny

    Gunny Lord and Master Tip Jar Donor

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    46,988
    What happens if you try to play a 1080i or 1080p video on a TV that cannot support it?
    #1
  2. Puck

    Puck Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,051
    nothing
    #2
  3. Laserjock

    Laserjock South Endzone Rocks! Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,508
    I guess you should just throw it out based on what I have been reading here lately.
    #3
  4. Gunny

    Gunny Lord and Master Tip Jar Donor

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    46,988
    as in a blank screen?
    #4
  5. Laserjock

    Laserjock South Endzone Rocks! Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,508
    No...it will not be blank. Your TV will display it at the native resolution of your set.
    #5
  6. Puck

    Puck Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,051
    The answer to the question is different depending on the resolution you try to obtain

    if you try to send a 1080p signal to a display that does not support 1080p your screen will go blank and return to a resolution that the TV can display. This is the issue that I encountered with the Toshi, despite its claims that it was a 1080p display ,it would NOT display a 1080p signal via any input. It resolves the scan by de-interlacing the 1080i signal to achieve a progressive scan ... however, it was still 1080i. So both the ps3 and the Xbox 360 both had to be set to 1080i

    you can send 1080i to a non 1080i set, but it will display it in 480i; because the set is capable of interlacing

    a non-progressive display cannot display a progressive scan signal whether its 480p / 720p / or 1080p because scanning progressively is different from scanning in interlaced form

    SDTV = 480i
    EDTV = 480p
    HDTV = 1080i
    FULL HD = 1080p
    #6
  7. Gunny

    Gunny Lord and Master Tip Jar Donor

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    46,988
    I'm just wondering if my TV is actually capable of doing so. And if I have it set up right.
    #7
  8. Puck

    Puck Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,051
    what are you trying to do ?
    and what are the specs of your TV and the source ?

    if you're trying to enable 1080p on your ps3
    and connecting it to a TV that is not 1080p capable
    it's not going to work

    if you're connecting something 1080i
    to a TV that is not 1080i capable
    you'll get a picture
    but it'll probably be 480i

    you're better off setting the output resolution of your source to the maximum resolution of your TV
    #8
  9. Gunny

    Gunny Lord and Master Tip Jar Donor

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    46,988
    Well the PS3 is hooked up to the tuner which is hooked up to the TV and I was wondering if it would make a difference if the PS3 was hooked up straight to the TV instead.

    That is what I am trying to determine.
    #9
  10. Gunny

    Gunny Lord and Master Tip Jar Donor

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    46,988
    So I went searching for the manual to the TV and the PS3 in the drawer full of manuals for every electronic device we have and the answer to my question about the TV is on the front cover -

    1080P FullHD (is that the one above 1080i or is 1080i the better one?)
    #10
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.