Home Theatre Problem

Discussion in 'Gear' started by A Fightin'Titan, Dec 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. A Fightin'Titan

    A Fightin'Titan Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
  2. A Fightin'Titan

    A Fightin'Titan Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    What I have now is only two sets of component cables(?) my PS3 set which have each blue, green, orange, red and white and a set with only the blue, green and orange. I just don't want to go out and buy the wrong stuff. Oh and a set of RCA's
    #12
  3. Puck

    Puck Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,051
    the simplest thing to do is to hook everything (audio and video) directly to your TV ... then connect the audio OUT of your TV to the AUDIO IN of your Home Theatre System

    this way everything that the TV receives will pass through to the HT


    the reality is that the unit doesn't have enough inputs to do justice to your gear .. the AUX inputs are for receiving audio, but thay are composite (red/white) and are analog. the HT "may" decode some 5.1 information, but it's unlikely
    #13
  4. A Fightin'Titan

    A Fightin'Titan Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454


    Your idea of plugging everything into my t.v sounds good but i don't see an audio out from my tv. Just the two component ins, three video ins, two s videos, a digital in and something that says prog out ( red white yellow). Plus where would I plug something into the receiver? In the RCA aux 1 spot?
    #14
  5. Puck

    Puck Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,051
    Program Out is it
    it is analog, but will send audio from the TV to your 'amp'
    if your TV is sophisticated enough to have a Digital Audio IN, then it certinly must have some form of Audio output (which it does, albeit not Digital)

    if true Dolby Digital 5.1 or even 7.1 is what you're looking for, you might want to look at legitimate AV Receivers from Harman/Kardon, Onkyo or Denon

    I have an HK that has 4 digital Inputs (both Optical and Coaxial (single orange-which is what alot of Motorola cable boxes use)) it does Dolby Digital (EX, ProIIx,etc..) DTS Neo, and HK's own Logic7 among others.
    #15
  6. Puck

    Puck Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,051
    yes, ..... it sounds like it's your only choice
    the unit you have was designed to be a stand-alone component focusing mainly on the on-board DVD player and giving little thought to other external equipment
    #16
  7. A Fightin'Titan

    A Fightin'Titan Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Hey thanks man. I'll try this right now I believe I have enough cables. Thanks everybody.
    #17
  8. A Fightin'Titan

    A Fightin'Titan Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Nothing seems to be happening.

    Aquestion: if the prog out is for audio why does it have a yellow spot.
    #18
  9. A Fightin'Titan

    A Fightin'Titan Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Yeah it works. Beautiful. Only now I need a universal .... thanks guys.
    #19
  10. Puck

    Puck Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,051
    yellow is for video
    you can output the audio without having to output the video
    #20
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.