AIM trouble

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Fry, Dec 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fry

    Fry Hatin' is what I do.

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    26,232
    my AIM was working just fune one day, and the next it stopped working. everytime i try to sign on it says there was a sever error. i checked my firewall and it's allowed to access the internet.

    i have uninstalled it and reinstalled it, same result. i have the updated version, still no luck.

    i have no clue what's wrong with it.
    #1
  2. Broken Record

    Broken Record Biscuit Eater Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,291
    What does the error say exactly? If it's a fairly common error you can usually type the exact error in quotes in a google search and find your answer.
    #2
  3. GoTitans3801

    GoTitans3801 Forward Progress!

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,640
    I got a new computer and installed the new version, and it sucks. Sometimes it makes the IM noise when I haven't gotten an IM. I'm basically constantly worried that someone is trying to get in touch with me but I don't know who.
    #3
  4. Broken Record

    Broken Record Biscuit Eater Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,291
    If it's quirky, y'all might consider changing to Windows Live Messenger. It's free and works well.
    #4
  5. Fry

    Fry Hatin' is what I do.

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    26,232
    "a server error occurred."

    that's literally all it says.
    #5
  6. RyansTitans

    RyansTitans Guest

    same thing happened to me. i was using the newer version which i diddnt really like in the first place so i went back to the old version and its worked ever sence. if u still have problems with it then download Gaim. its the same thing as AIM u can sign in with ur aim screen name. or u can try Trillian.
    #6
  7. Fry

    Fry Hatin' is what I do.

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    26,232
    wow, im amazed that going back to an older version worked. thanks.
    #7
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.