360's been fixed?

Discussion in 'Video Games' started by Bobo, Sep 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bobo

    Bobo Guest

    With all the recent hoopla with the red ring of death, has MS made efforts to fix the problem? Are there any other problems? I'm probably going to get one, but I'd like to know a bit more about it's....um....quirks :-/
    #1
  2. Slackmaster

    Slackmaster Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,234
    Just get a computer instead.
    #2
  3. Bobo

    Bobo Guest

    How do you think I typed this message on Gotitans? :))
    #3
  4. Puck

    Puck Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,051
    Bobo, since I got my replacement unit a few months back I have yet to have a single problem. you might wanna hold off a few more weeks though. there's rumor that the price will drop again near the holidays - also, these new 65nm chipset units should start rolling out sometime soon - that's the unit you want

    65nm chip + HDMI out = shiny

    if you just gotta get one today, Office Depot was offering a $50 rebate making the Premium unit a nice $299

    whatever you do, make sure you get one with a HDD; whether that be the Premium or the 120gb Elite - word on the elite though, they have been riddled with problems


    but in reality, with a 3 year warranty , who really cares if it tears up ... as long as you can get a new one - they even restarted my warranty date to the date that they shipped my new unit
    #4
  5. Bobo

    Bobo Guest

    65nm chipset - what does that do?

    HDMI - gotta have a hd tv, right? That purchase may come sometime soon, but I haven't looked too close at the tv market yet. Seems like the technology keeps moving quickly, and I hate buying something that's not going to be "all that" for awhile.
    #5
  6. Puck

    Puck Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,051
    the 65nm chips run quiter and cooler

    and HDMI (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) is currently the best way to connect. ... everything (HD video and Dolby Digital audio) all travel down 1 single cable ... pretty sweet to hook something up with only 1 cable versus 5 like component
    #6
  7. Puck

    Puck Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,051
    btw ..... even if you don't have a TV with no HDMI input, you can still hook it up composite (yellow / red / white) or component
    #7
  8. Bobo

    Bobo Guest

    I'm old school....red, white, yellow :ha: Well I have s-video actually, I'm cool.

    As far as the 360 is concerned, what's the best HD you can get out of it? 1080i? 1080p? P's better, right?
    #8
  9. Puck

    Puck Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,051
    1080i is as high an output as you can get for games I believe
    there is a 1080p enable switch in the settings, but I believe it's only for the HD-DVD add on

    and yes, 1080p is better than 1080i, not only in theory but in reality
    however, you must have a TV capable of receiving and displaying it
    I STRONGLY suggest the Sony KDS-**A2020 ( i got the 60")

    remember the "i" stands for interlacing
    the "p stands for 'progressive' scan
    progressive scanning is always a better alternative to interlacing
    #9
  10. Bobo

    Bobo Guest

    Decent price? I have a 55" now, and the only thing I'm gonna hate about getting a new HD set is I won't be able to afford one that big....at least from what I've seen.
    #10
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.